Marshall B. Ketchum University Honors 2019 V-Awards For Charitable And Volunteer Service Benefiting Greater Community

Awards at Eighth Annual Gala to Recognize Dr. and Mrs. Morris Applebaum and Dr. Lynn Gabriel

Marshall B. Ketchum University announced its honorees for the annual V-Awards, the University’s most prestigious award for contributions to the health care profession as well as generosity and commitment to Marshall B. Ketchum University. This year’s honorees are Morris Applebaum, OD, ’68, and Arleen Applebaum, as well as Lynn Caffrey Gabriel, OD, ’78. The awards will be given at MBKU’s eighth annual Gala Celebration to be held at The Bowers Museum in Santa Ana on September 14, 2019 at 6:30 p.m.

“This year’s honorees are significant because they are close to our own academic and health care community at Marshall B. Ketchum University,” said University President Kevin L. Alexander, OD, PhD. “We will recognize their longstanding hard work and dedication to our community, and their own contributions to health care and optometry.”

Dr. Morris Applebaum, a resident of Palm Desert, graduated Summa Cum Laude in 1968 from the Southern California College of Optometry, then known as Los Angeles College of Optometry. He immediately began his teaching career at his alma mater and progressed through the academic ranks throughout the decades. Dr. Applebaum practiced optometry at the Southern California Permanente Medical Group, and was named Chief of Optometry. At the time of his retirement in 1998, he was named Professor Emeritus in recognition of his dedication to SCCO and the profession. Dr. Applebaum has served on professional committees and boards including the California Board of Optometry, the National Board of Examiners in Optometry and the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania Board of Optometry Licensure Examination. He is a member of the American Optometric Association, American Academy of Optometry, Association of Optometric Educators and Beta Sigma Kappa.

Arleen Applebaum is a trained nurse, and in her dedication to medicine, Arleen and Morris have made significant philanthropic gifts to SCCO providing support for student programs, scholarships continuing education, and they have put in place a planned gift to support SCCO in the future. In recognition of their generosity, the institution has established the Dr. Morris and Arleen Applebaum Lectureship and Dr. Morris and Arleen Applebaum Pre-Clinic Lab.

Dr. Lynn Caffrey Gabriel, a resident of Pasadena, is a 1978 graduate of SCCO, and after graduation, went into private practice operating the Pasadena Optometry Center until her 2007 retirement. Dr. Gabriel was the first woman president elected to the California Optometric Association, and was involved in the San Gabriel Valley Optometric Society where she served as president for several years. She has been actively involved in a number of community organizations including Lincoln Clubs of Los Angeles County, Soroptimists, California Women Business Owners, Women in Business, Pasadena Chamber of Commerce, the Los Angeles County Housing Authority, and the California Philharmonic Orchestra. Dr. Gabriel also served as president of the SCCO Alumni Association and currently serves as chair of the ACHIEVING 20|20 Campaign, and on the MBKU board of trustees. Her financial support of MBKU’s students and educational programs established the Dr. Lynn Caffrey Gabriel Endowed Scholarship, the named Lynn Caffrey Gabriel Clinical Research Center, Optical Production Lab and National Board Mock Exam room.

MBKU’s signature annual Gala Celebration welcomes more than 200 guests each year, benefitting MBKU’s Southern California College of Optometry, School of Physician Assistant Studies, College of Pharmacy, and the University Eye Centers at Ketchum Health in Anaheim and Los Angeles, along with honorees of the V-Award. The Vita (Latin for life or a way of life) Award, or V-Award, symbolizes the impact that our honorees have on their fellow human kind, doing good work and showing compassion and support for others in their field.

“This is the University’s flagship fundraiser of the year to celebrate and support the diverse and multi-disciplinary educational programs,” said Vice President of University Advancement, Joan Rubio. “We encourage the public to join us at the 2019 Gala Celebration and commend the compassion, good work and the “vita” behind Marshall B. Ketchum University.”


For additional information about MBKU’s Gala Celebration, visit

About Marshall B. Ketchum University 
Located in Fullerton, Calif., Marshall B. Ketchum University is an independent, private, non-profit, accredited educational institution. MBKU is home to the Southern California College of Optometry, the School of PA Studies and College of Pharmacy. The Southern California College of Optometry confers a Doctor of Optometry and a Master of Science in Vision Science degree. The School of PA Studies awards a Master of Medical Science degree. The College of Pharmacy welcomed its first class in the fall of 2016 and will award a Doctor of Pharmacy degree. MBKU owns and operates two eye and vision care centers: the University Eye Center at Ketchum Health Anaheim and the University Eye Center at Ketchum Health Los Angeles. The University also opened a Family Medicine Practice in 2018, at its Ketchum Health facility in Anaheim.


Marshall B. Ketchum University Logo

Marshall B. Ketchum University

This year’s honorees are significant because they are close to our own academic and health care community at Marshall B. Ketchum University